Challenge Alice!

Well it’s been quite some time since I updated my blog. Mainly because life is all of a sudden very busy. After a year where it felt like time stood still in some ways, now there is so much going on I can hardly keep up!

Tomorrow I turn 38. I know a lot of people really don’t enjoy that getting older thing. For me it’s something I definitely don’t take for granted. I feel pretty lucky to add an extra year on and celebrate the fact.

This time last year was the hardest. I was in the thick of radiotherapy, whilst having chemo treatment too. It was intense and I felt the effects of this for quite some time afterwards. Fast forward 12 months and in some ways it feels like it never happened. So many people have commented on how well I look, which is really lovely and a great confidence boost! Sometimes the last year comes back to haunt me though. It’s hard to put into words but I have something like flashbacks. Every now and again I find myself thinking about the dreaded chemo and all that went with it and it’s hard to just shut that part of my life down. There are even certain clothes I can’t bring myself to wear as they remind me of going in for treatment – weird eh!

BUT I have reached and passed the happy milestone of 6 months cancer free post treatment and that is a very good place to be!

Next weekend I finally tick off an adventure that was planned for last year. Myself and 4 friends are climbing the Welsh 3 Peaks over two days. It’s going to be very tough! We travel up to Snowdon on Friday evening and get up early to climb that big fella and Cadair Idris all in one day. Then the next day we travel back down to the Brecons to climb Pen-y-Fan. I’ve done Pen-y-Fan a few times recently, it’s never easy and every time it’s made me wonder how on earth I’ll manage all three! But I can’t wait to spend time with good friends and hopefully we will be rewarded for our efforts with some fantastic views.

I’ve been plodding along with the running too. Last month I took part in the Swansea Bay 10k. It was so hot! A beautiful day and I have to say I thoroughly enjoyed it. I was very touched by the reaction of so many friends to me managing this. I guess I just don’t realise how far I’ve come sometimes.

My main reason for getting the miles in is that in true Alice style I have taken on the hardest challenge I shall probably ever do – I have a place to run the London marathon for Cancer Research UK…arghhhhhhh!! This will be a real mammoth effort, I’ve only ever done a half marathon before and that was many years ago. But one thing is for sure no matter how slowly, I WILL achieve this! It’s something I have always watched on the tv and thought what an amazing atmosphere, never imagining I would one day be a part of it. So all you runners out there, any advice and tips are very much welcomed (apart from “don’t do it” – too late!) I’m up to ten miles so far, which I did today and am hurting a lot! I’m busy planning some exciting fundraising activities too šŸ™‚

If you’d like to donate I would be extremely grateful! Here is a link to my page – http://uk.virginmoneygiving.com/fundraiser-web/fundraiser/showFundraiserProfilePage.action?userUrl=AliceRoythorne

Last night me and my little family went along to Stand Up To Cancer in Cardiff, one of 15 cities taking part in this special event. There was a wonderful atmosphere as hundreds of people marched through the city to the beat of a drum, with their placards held high, showing who they were marching for. It was a lovely feeling knowing I had friends across the country marching at exactly the same time. I was very honoured to be asked to carry a flag and walk at the front with the drummer. It was a night I won’t forget.

1975241_10152295303652133_2023720867017448379_n 10689929_10152295303502133_8049482448486087373_n

Leave a comment