2015 – The Year of the Marathon…eek!!!

Happy New Year! I can’t believe it’s been 3 months since I have had the time to update my blog!
I really don’t know how some people manage to do weekly posts, maybe my new year’s resolution should be to pay more attention to my blog 🙂

One of the reasons I haven’t been blogging is that I finally got round to writing my 4 columns for Wales Online, my prize for winning the Blog Award. It was a great experience and I’m really thrilled to have had the opportunity to see my words published like this! It took a long while for me to find something I felt comfortable writing about, my blog has always been related to my health issues yet I didn’t want the column to be depressing or dull. I felt I had a lot to live up to as the other nominated blogs were all brilliant and so interesting to read!
So I decided to concentrate on my marathon training and attempt to show what life after cancer can be like. If you’d like to read them here are the links:

http://www.walesonline.co.uk/lifestyle/lifestyle-opinion/i-never-lose-sight-just-7991824

http://www.walesonline.co.uk/lifestyle/lifestyle-opinion/slow-steady-way-go-cancer-8021586

http://www.walesonline.co.uk/lifestyle/lifestyle-opinion/cancer-getting-through-each-step-8094564

http://www.walesonline.co.uk/lifestyle/lifestyle-opinion/hero-christmas-register-stem-cell-8258812

Back in November I had my regular check up and was relieved and very happy to reach 9 months cancer free! It’s always a fantastic feeling to get through another appointment with good news. Now bring on the 12 month milestone!
Ewings Sarcoma is particularly aggressive and I’d been told if it was to come back it would be more likely to happen within the first year after treatment. So I am extremely keen to get through that first year barrier!

It’s fair to say I’ve found the marathon training difficult the last couple of months. I was going well, getting out 3 times a week and gradually increasing my miles. Then the nights got darker, colder and less inviting and it became a bit of a struggle. I won’t go running in the dark on my own so I was quite limited as to when I could get the runs in. I made it to eleven miles which felt like such a great achievement and now seem to be going backwards in some respects. In my mind I had wanted to get to the half marathon before Christmas but that wasn’t to be.

The lead up to Christmas is so busy finding time to run became even harder. Then just before Christmas I came down with Shingles. Strange really but I was actually relieved. I had had back pain for a while, pain that had kept me awake at night and gradually got me more and more worried. I think that’s just how I will be now, terrified of the worst until I know it’s definitely not that. It didn’t stop me from having a lovely Christmas and New Year though, it’s been fantastic.
Last year although I was home for both, I had the knowledge of 3 more chemo sessions ahead hanging over me. That really seems a lifetime ago now. As I was writing things in my calendar for this year I looked back at last January, clinic appointment, chemo session, appointment to have my picc line moved, nurse appointment and so it went on.

So although I have been beating myself up about not getting on as well as I’d like with my running I really need to remember just how far I have come in 12 months. This time last year walking from the car park to the school gates was a huge effort some days.

I looked through pictures of the last year, starting with one I did for Cancer Research for a Christmas post on their facebook page in December 2013. Fast forward 12 months I look and feel totally different to then! I remember being pretty low then, the whole thing felt like it would never end, and now I am fortunate enough to be in the position where it is in the past and I have really been able to move on. Although it never exactly goes away. Going through the photos it was a reminder of how month by month I had improved and achieved different things, from my first mile to the Welsh 3 peaks! Oh and my celebratory party after all the dreaded treatment was finally at an end, what a great night that was!

I was pottering round the house on new years eve and kept putting off going for a run. In the end I made myself go. First one since being ill. Put on my lovely new leggings I had from Macie for Christmas and plodded round 3.5 miles in the rain. It felt good…great to be back out there, just pootling along not worrying about distance.

I know I have a long LONG way to go! I feel like I’m starting all over again really. But I’m trying not to panic. I’ve got plenty of time I try and tell myself! Although April seems to be creeping up very quickly!

So at a time when a lot of people are setting goals for the year ahead mine is just RUN MORE!!

I’d love to hear if you have any goals for 2015!

10897837_10152444729487133_3873593906987912196_n

2 thoughts on “2015 – The Year of the Marathon…eek!!!

Leave a Reply

